5 Comments

The grey winter light gets me down as well. However, here in the Highlands of Virginia, we've had some extraordinary sky scenes lately - intense morning and evening sky colors, pink, salmon, fiery orange; and not only spectacular colors but also strange cloud formations that have been interesting to watch.

Expand full comment
author

Winter sunsrises and sunsets can be so spectacular! The longer angle of the sun seems to have an intensifying effect on those times of day. Sounds like it has been a beautiful week there.

Expand full comment

I've had the same skies (what with also being in the PNW), but I think what I notice more is the quantity or overall color of the light this time of year. Some days are brighter, some dim, some feel blanketed by cool grey light, others blinding with whiteness.

Expand full comment
author

I'm so curious to know where you live! I love the idea of taking time to take notice of the tonal differences of gray days.

Expand full comment

Just north of Seattle. Always happy to find other PNW neighbors!

Expand full comment